Performance based on output, not hours

BusinessWeek.com:” Phyllis Moen, a University of Minnesota sociology professor who researches work-life issues, is studying the Best Buy experiment in a project sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. She says most companies are stuck in the 1930s when it comes to employees’ and managers’ relationships to time and work. “Our whole notion of paid work was developed within an assembly line culture,” Moen says. “Showing up was work. Best Buy is recognizing that sitting in a chair is no longer working.” ” Amen

I have been thinking about this for a long time. Coincidentally, currently I’m here in Germany because of some family crisis, but regardless, I’m still working. I still put in long hours; I collaborate with my coworkers back in the states just like I used to when I was there physically; my productivity hasn’t changed that much – if not for the better.

Flexible work schedules, they say, heap needless bureaucracy on managers instead of addressing the real issue: how to work more efficiently in an era of transcontinental teams and multiple time zones. They add that flextime also stigmatizes those who use it (the reason so few do) and keeps companies acting like the military (fixated on schedules) when they should behave more like MySpace (NWS ) (social networks where real-time innovation can flourish). Besides, they say, if people can virtually carry their office around in their pockets or pocketbooks, why should it matter where and when they work if they are crushing their goals?” I couldn’t have said it any better.

By the way, I’m planning to go to Ethiopia to take care of some family matters. I’m hoping that I will be able to work from there as well. I’m going to have to see what their broadband capability is though.

Ain’t technology grand?!

NewYork Times: ‘When work time isn’t face time’

Leave a Reply

